Utah is one of the states that has legalized medical marijuana, allowing licensed doctors to prescribe this alternative treatment to patients who suffer from a medical condition. The requirements for obtaining a medical marijuana card in Utah are quite similar to those in most states. Patients must first meet a set of criteria to be eligible, after which they must follow a few steps to apply for their cards.
Who Can Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card?
In Utah, patients must be at least 21 to be able to apply for a card. Doctors will rarely prescribe medical marijuana to children, however, they may still submit an application through the Compassionate Use Board. The application for underage patients is more complex and there is no guarantee that the Board will accept it.
Here are the other requirements that patients over the age of 21 must meet:
- patients must be Utah residents and be able to show proof of residency
- patients must suffer from a qualifying medical condition
- patients must be evaluated by a doctor and receive a recommendation for medical marijuana
Patients must submit their applications through the electronic verification system (EVS) only after they have received a recommendation from a doctor. Without it, they may not proceed with their application for a card.
Getting Evaluated By a Doctor
Patients suffering from a medical condition must be evaluated by a doctor and be certified for medical marijuana. An evaluation will take into consideration all the traits of the patient’s condition, as well as past medical records that can be presented. Patients must remember that only doctors who are registered with the Utah Department of Health to recommend medical marijuana can issue such a recommendation.
What Medical Conditions Qualify in Utah?
There are many qualifying conditions that allow for medical marijuana treatment in Utah. These include, but are not limited to:
- amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- Crohn’s disease
- Alzheimer’s disease
- ulcerative colitis
- debilitating seizures
- persistent nausea
- cannabis-induced cyclical vomiting syndrome
- cannabinoid hyperemesis syndrome
- multiple sclerosis
- muscle spasms
- post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- a terminal illness
If a patient is suffering from a medical condition that is not listed by state law, they can actually petition with the Compassionate Use Board and obtain eligibility.
What Happens After Receiving a Medical Marijuana Recommendation?
After patients are evaluated and receive a medical recommendation, they can proceed to apply with the EVS. To do that, patients must first create a Utah ID account.
Once the account is created, the patient will have to submit all the necessary documents for their application. The doctor is then responsible for submitting the medical recommendation issued for the patient.
Patients will also have to support some fees as follows:
- Patient Card (initial): $15
- Patient Card (6-month renewal): $15
- Patient Card (1-year renewal*): $15
When all the information is submitted, the Board will start reviewing the application. It can take up to 15 days for over 21 patients to receive their approval, while underage patients may have to wait up 90 days for their application to be reviewed.
If the application is approved, the UDOH will issue a medical marijuana card and send an electronic copy to the patient.
How Can You Use a Medical Marijuana Card in Utah?
Certified patients can use their medical marijuana cards in Utah to purchase up to a 30-day supply. Although smoking marijuana is illegal in Utah, patients will be able to find and purchase medical marijuana products in various forms:
- A tablet or capsule
- Concentrated oil, like cartridges for vaping
- A liquid suspension
- Topical or transdermal lotion or cream
- Sublingual preparation or tincture
- A gelatinous cube (gummy)
- Unprocessed cannabis flower
- Wax or resin
To purchase medical marijuana from a dispensary, registered patients should also present another identification form, such as a driver’s license.
If you suffer from a medical condition that you think could improve with medical marijuana treatment, make sure to book a consultation and get evaluated by a doctor. With a doctor’s recommendation, Utah residents can obtain an Orem medical marijuanas card and legally purchase their medicine from state-licensed dispensaries.