What You Need to Know about Australian Standards

Standards are papers created voluntarily and contain requirements, instructions, and policies to guarantee goods, services, and systems’ consistency, reliability, and safety.

These papers include a wide range of topics, such as consumer goods and services, the economy, buildings, utilities for electricity and water, and more. Professional panels at Standards Australia constantly evaluate standards to keep up with emerging technologies.

What are the Australian Standards?

Australian Standards are capable of resolving issues relating to public policy. They are a type of policy instrument in the regulation toolbox that governments might use to address issues. Relying on the situation, the best action for a public policy issue might be to take “no action” or a non-regulatory course of action, like a propaganda campaign.

Standards Australia manages over 5,000 Australian Standards and related publications, all accessible in various formats, from classic printed books to cutting-edge digital subscription offerings.

Standard Types

Adhering to these regulations may anticipate that your company or the economy will run smoothly. There are two different kinds of standards: compulsory and voluntary.

Compulsory Standard 

There are legal repercussions for developing products that don’t adhere to mandatory criteria. The Australian Competition and Consumer Commission creates them after consulting with the general public and business representatives. Two categories of product standards are required:

1. Safety – are requirements that items adhere to interim measures, formulation, materials, manufacturing or processing processes, form, structure, finishes, or packaging standards.

2. Information – needing specific details like branding, detailed directions, and precautions against potential misuse.

Voluntary Standard

Publication papers known as voluntary standards typically indicate a correct procedure. They are created by non-governmental organizations like Standards Australia and the global organization International Organization for Standardization, and they are not automatically legal obligations. Online searches and purchases for voluntary standards are available.

Standard Categories

The standards community generally recognizes three sorts of standards.


Regional Standards are regulations created or endorsed by a specific region and are readily accessible to the general public. These standards may later be accepted as national standards by countries that are members of the EU, and they occasionally are in Australia and New Zealand.


These standards have been created, endorsed, and accepted by a national standards organization or another recognized organization and are accessible to the general public.


International Standards are specifications created and authorized by an international SDO and are accessible to the general public. The two primary international standardizing organizations are ISO and IEC. International standards creation and adoption are encouraged by Standards Australia.

Standards are not laws; hence there is no common obligation to follow them. However, if a law specifies that you must comply with a certain regulation, then doing so is required.


These standards may still be significant to a trial when considering whether a public authority has conformed with the WHS regulations because they offer guidance on specific issues. Meaning that the court may consider that a person’s compliance with a guideline is significant and that doing so was reasonably achievable under the circumstances.

Christopher Stern

Christopher Stern is a Washington-based reporter. Chris spent many years covering tech policy as a business reporter for renowned publications. He has extensive experience covering Congress, the Federal Communications Commission, and the Federal Trade Commissions. He is a graduate of Middlebury College. Email:[email protected]

Related Articles

Back to top button